Image

Heliaeschna uninervulata Martin, 1909

Family: Aeshnidae
Scientific Name: Heliaeschna uninervulata
Common Name: Lesser Night Hawker

Heliaeschna uninervulata is a very rare dragonfly species in Singapore and was only recently recorded in April 2008 from a stream at MacRitchie Reservoir. On the 7th of June 2013, I was at a location at the western part of Singapore for the first time, when I came across a dragonfly which look very familiar to me, resting on the stalk of a plant near to the edge of the reservoir. Initially I thought it was the Gynacantha dohrni which I was quite familiar with, but upon closer examination of it’s anal appendages, I noticed it was of something different from all the Gynacantha Species which I have seen before. I zoomed into the anal appendages and took a few shots for later examination. After some reference from the book by Mr. A.G. Orr and some on-line research, I come to the conclusion that this dragonfly should be the very rare Heliaeschna uninervulata, which I based the distinguishing features on the following two points:

1) the base of the wing median space has only one single cross vein;

2) the shape of the anal appendages is very distinctive. It is flat and broad and has some kind of incision structure

I went to the same place again in August 2013, and saw another male but I am not sure is this the same male which I have seen two months ago. I am very sure this is the kind of habitat which is very suitable for this species to thrive and survive. I do hope one day I will be able to see the female of this species.

This was the first time when I seen him, resting on the stalk of this water plant and remained motionless for the next 15 minutes or so until it decided to take off when I moved in closer for the side view. The patch of vegetation is in fact very near to the edge of the reservoir.
A close up shot of the wings. Noticed there is only one cross vein at the median space at the hind wing.
The shape of the anal appendages is very unique. It is flat and broad with some kind of incision structure
One thought on “Heliaeschna uninervulata Martin, 1909

Leave a Reply

